Shirley Proctor Twiss Book Collection

Cotton in Augusta

Myra is a sharecropper’s daughter who never knew the joys of childhood or leisure in her adult life. Her struggle was always to make the best of her circumstances to brighten the way for those she loves.

Fate, however, has hatched up a different plan.

As Myra carries on with her quest, she soon finds herself faced with obstacles that test her spirit to the limit — before bringing her the love and happiness that she had always craved.

In a novel that powerfully reflects the biting realities of life, novelist Shirley Proctor Twiss masterfully interweaves the threads of romance and human drama as she pens a poignant story about an extraordinary woman in pursuit of love, happiness, and meaning in an unjust world.

Cotton in Augusta is not the usual tale of the genteel life of Southern ladies. Rather, it is a story of the true heroines of the South; the ones who struggled against poverty, prejudice, class, and the status of women to raise strong and successful families.


Joy in the Morning

Joy in the Morning is a homecoming for fans of Cotton in Augusta. Readers who are being introduced to the writing of Shirley Proctor Twiss will find this story delightfully entertaining and insightful with a heavy dash of inspiration.

Myra and her family are now in a later period of their lives. Many old challenges persist, and the changing times test her with more complex and heartrending issues. A devastating event will change the course of their lives at a time when they are least able to overcome adversity. The Great Depression drastically changes their lives. James is humbled by his inability to find work and provide for his family. Myra is able to keep food on the table and a roof over their head by using the survival skills learned in her childhood. She has to balance these responsibilities with her heartbreak at seeing her beloved husband suffering the discouragement of his hopeless situation. Their bond of deep abiding love has grown stronger over the years. It has sometimes been tarnished by their differing views of responsibility, but it has never broken. However, James’s often wayward antics have stressed the bond.

Readers will experience an intimate sense of life during the Great Depression as Myra and James put aside their pride and realizes they have to receive help from others. After struggling through the Great Depression, World War II brings new horrors. Myra becomes aware of world events for the first time in her life. Many family members are called to serve and are in harm’s way. Gold stars appear in windows. She learns of the Holocaust and takes this as her own grief. Her heart is filled with pain, as she questions this inhumanity to the most innocent.

The six children add new twists to the story as they move into adulthood. Marriages will add new family members. Some are rejoiced— some cause concern. Readers will recognize traits of both Myra and James in the children as they establish their identities.

Many old friends from Cotton in Augusta will reappear as the story progresses. The ties and loyalties of the MacTavish family bring them to the aid of James and Myra when their support is needed. However, some will disappoint them with spiteful acts. In this respect Joy in the Morning continues to show the biting realities of life that Myra endured in the first novel.

Myra becomes aware of changes in the status of women brought on by the war years. She begins to look at herself as a person and not just a wife and mother. A surprise is in store for readers when she takes a stand that readers have long awaited. As readers turn the pages of Joy in the Morning, they will feel as though they are walking in the shoes of the characters, and the meaning of the title will be discovered.


From Myra to Laura

Cotton in Augusta introduced readers to Myra as a child in the cotton patch and followed her growth into a woman, wife, and mother. They felt her pain in Joy in the Morning, as she struggled through the Great Depression, World War II, and the death of her beloved husband, James.

From Myra to Laura takes her into the later years where she must find a new life without James by her side and make a new home. Will she meet this challenge? Her children are grown and settled into their lives. Grandchildren are her delight. She has comfort and security to enjoy leisure and pleasures she had never experienced. Will she be content to enjoy this life without concerns?

Just as she becomes comfortable and familiar with her new life, the world she has known faces drastic changes. Violence and discord enter her living room via the television. Innocent people, even children and a president, are slain. War ravages the nation's youth. She cannot turn her head from this, and her heart and mind are troubled. She struggles to reconcile long-established customs with her sense of justice and fairness for all. Breaking the law is wrong-but arresting and jailing folks just for sitting down seemed a harsh thing to do. In her quest to understand, she could only turn to her Lord to express her doubts and fears and ask for guidance.

She hungers for more information, but this can only come from the printed words that she cannot read. Myra's later years will again surprise and amaze readers. A strong new character will emerge and carry Myra's spirit into later generations. Shirley Proctor Twiss promises that you will like this young lady.